League History

In 1949, Douglas Austin of the South Calgary Optimist Club, along with Keith Spaith and Paul Rowe (1948 Calgary Stampeder Grey Cup Champions) started contact football in Calgary for 12 to 15 year olds called Mighty Mite Football. The North Calgary Optimist Clubs joined later and between the two clubs they sponsored eight team’s in Calgary (4 North and 4 South). Most of the money for the teams was raised through the selling of Easter baskets. Their games were played Saturdays at Mewata Stadium.

The Calgary Bantam Football Association was formed in 1964 by a group of coaches who wanted to see all city teams treated equally in terms of equipment quality and fundraising abilities. One of those original founders Mr. Jim Courchesne still serves on the CBFA board of directors. Over the years teams have been funded through chocolate drives and a casino.

The CBFA has grown from six teams to the twelve teams we have today. There are teams in each quadrant of the city and four rural teams in Cochrane, Airdrie, Chestermere, and Okotoks.

CBFA City Champions

Les Ferguson Memorial Trophy

2019 Wildcats
2018 Stampeders
2017 Wildcats
2016 Hilltoppers
2015 Cowboys – Grey
2014 Eagles
2013 Cowboys – Grey
2012 Cowboys – Grey
2011 Cowboys
2010 Hilltoppers
2009 Stampeders
2008 Bulldogs
2007 Hilltoppers
2006 Cowboys
2005 Bulldogs
2004 Bulldogs
2003 Wildcats
2002 Wildcats
2001 Cowboys
2000 Boardwalk Equities Hilltoppers
1999 Ram Carpet Service Cowboys
1998 Boardwalk Equities Hilltoppers
1997 Ram Carpet Service Cowboys
1996 Roma Catering Bulldogs
1995 Roma Catering Bulldogs
1994 Heritage Office Broncos
1993 Ram Carpet Service Cowboys
1992 Trentech Bulldogs
1991 Trentech Bulldogs
1990 Deer Run Colts
1989 Ram Carpet Service Cowboys
1988 Cooke Motors Jaguars
1987 Trentech Bulldogs
1986 Trentech Bulldogs
1985 Trentech Bulldogs
1984 Trentech Bulldogs
1983 Bob’s Thorncliffe Hilltoppers
1982 CUPE 37 Bulldogs
1981 Cowley & Keith Colts
1980 Cowley & Keith Colts
1979 Cooke Motors Jaguars
1978 Cowley & Keith Colts
1976 Cowley & Keith Colts
1975 Active 20/30 Hilltoppers
1974 Cowley & Keith Colts
1973 Cowley & Keith Colts / Renfrew CUPE 37’s
1972 Cowley & Keith Colts
1971 Cooke Motors Jaguars
1970 Parkdale Centennials
1969 Cooke Motors Jaguars
1968 Cooke Motors Jaguars
1967 Calgary Kramer Kats
1966 Calgary Hilltoppers
1965 Renfrew Roughriders